法律框架

概览

2012年10月1日,《2012年温室气体和能源最低标准(GEMS)法》生效,成为大利亚产品能效监管的全国框架。GEMS监管人取代之前的州监管人,现在是澳大利亚唯一负责执法的机构。

规定GEMS要求的法律文件:

  • 《2012年温室气体和能源最低标准法》(《GEMS法》)
  • 《2012年GEMS(注册费)法》
  • 《2012年GEMS条例》(外部链接)(《GEMS条例》)
  •  GEMS注册费文件 * 2013年GEMS(检测GEMS产品的授权要求)文件
  •  2014年GEMS模型注册修改 - 申请费

受《GEMS法》监管的每一种产品的具体要求 – 包括最低能效标准(MEPS)和能效等级标签(ERL)要求 – 列在相关产品类型的进一步法律文件中,该文件 的名称为GEMS决议。

This page is also available in English

你的产品是否为监管产品?

许多产品受能效条例监管,必须满足某些监管要求,然后才能在澳大利亚或新西兰供应或销售。

根据具体产品,产品可能需要满足最低能效标准(MEPS)、能效等级标签要求或同时满足这两个要求。澳大利亚和新西兰有具体的要求。

注:以上提及的标准由澳大利亚标准协会和新西兰标准协会分别或共同发布,可从SAI Global(link is external)购买。

查看所有受监管产品

最低能效标准

什么是最低能效标准?

最低能效标准(MEPS)规定电器、照明和电气设备(产品)在销售或用于商业用途之前必须达到或超过的最低能效水平。

MEPS是澳大利亚和新西兰对一些产品的强制性要求。这些产品必须经过在线注册并满足一些法律要求,然后才能在这两个国家销售。如需了解某一产品的MEPS要求,请在受监管产品页查看相关的澳大利亚GEMS决议或新西兰条例。

MEPS为什么是重要的?

MEPS能有效提高产品能效。它通过规定最低能效水平,阻止低效产品进入市场,并向制造商发出相关信号,以提升产品效率。对消费者来说,MEPS意味着市场上的产品能耗越低,产品寿命期的运转费用越低。

MEPS是如何制定的?

澳大利亚联邦政府和新西兰政府合作,并与产业磋商,以对产品决定适合的MEPS。

拟议和未来的MEPS

MEPS和能效等级标签要求会定期复查,以确保跟进技术的发展。因此,对受监管的产品,可能会不时实施新的或修订的MEPS或能效等级标签要求。此外,根据严格产品评估的发现(见上文),可能也会不时对新产品实施MEPS或能效等级标签条例。

能效等级标签

什么是能效等级标签?

对于一些受《2012年温室气体和能源最低标准(GEMS)法》监管的产品,能效等级标签,或称ERL,可以在销售的时候为消费者提供能效信息。ERL可以帮助消费者对比产品星级评分和预估年度能耗,以对相似产品模型进行比较。

ERL又称对比标签,因为星级评分和能耗预估可以使消费者对比相似尺寸和功率的不同模型的能效,以(理想地)选择最有效且符合他们需求的产品。

哪些产品必须具备能效等级标签?

《GEMS法》要求,有些产品在澳大利亚销售的时候必须具备能效等级标签(ERL)。

这些产品包括:

  • 空调(单相)
  • 电视机
  • 洗衣机
  • 电冰箱
  • 烘干机
  • 冷冻箱
  • 洗碗机
  • 电脑显示器

 

了解能效等级标签的更多信息

标准

标准是什么?

标准是一些出版的文件,规定规格和检测程序,以确保产品安全、可靠并能持续按所描述的方式运转。标准还规定相关规格,以确保产品达到一定的能效水平。

标准在用能产品的能效监管中发挥着重要作用;但是澳大利亚和新西兰使用的标准的略有不同:

获取标准复印件

澳大利亚标准协会和新西兰标准协会出版有独立标准和联合标准。标准可以从SAI Global(link is external)新西兰标准协会(link is external)购买。在新西兰适用的标准也可在EECA(能效和节能管理局)总部(link is external)查看。

注册页中有适用于受E3计划监管产品的性能和检测标准列表。

法律信息

受《GEMS法》监管的每种产品的具体要求 – 包括最低能效标准(MEPS)和能效等级标签(ERL)要求 – 列在相关产品类型的进一步法律文件中,该文件的名称为GEMS决议。

什么是GEMS决议?

GEMS决议(在决议涵盖的每个产品类别中)规定产品需要满足的要求,以便产品在澳大利亚合法注册、供应或提供。这可能包括澳大利亚标准中的相关条款。

标准是一些独立出版的文件,其中规定规格和检测程序,以确保产品安全、可靠并能持续按所描述的方式运转。标准还规定相关规格,以确保产品达到一定的能效水平和满足其他能效要求。

澳大利亚标准协会和新西兰标准协会出版有独立标准和联合标准。标准可以从SAI Global(link is external)新西兰标准协会(link is external)购买。在新西兰适用的标准也可在EECA(能效和节能管理局)总部(link is external)查看。

新西兰法律如何实施?

新西兰的产品能效法律文书是《2002年能效(用能产品)条例》(新西兰条例),由(link is external)新西兰监管人能效和节能管理局(link is external)(EECA)负责执行。

新西兰的MEPS和ERL要求列在EECA网站现行产品标准(link is external)栏目中。检测、MEPS和能效等级标签标准的汇总表也可从EECA网站(link is external)获取。

如果某一产品的能效特征符合该产品所属产品类别的标准,并且已在澳大利亚注册,则该产品也视为已根据新西兰条例注册,可以在新西兰供应。但是,澳大利亚不认可新西兰的产品注册。

我如何了解哪个GEMS决议或标准适用于我的产品?

产品页上有关于哪些产品需要符合MEPS要求和/或贴能效等级标签的信息。该页面上还列有澳大利亚GEMS决议和新西兰产品标准。

如何满足监管要求?

你必须完成以下步骤,以合法供应受《GEMS法》监管的产品:

  1. 检测产品—产品必须经过检测,以证明其能效水平。检测报告说明你的产品是否达到最低能效标准,并决定产品能效等级标签上的内容(如果需要贴标签)。你可能需要在申请注册时提供检测报告。
  2. 确保产品合规—产品必须符合澳大利亚条例中规定的要求,可能包括最低能效标准能效等级标签要求。
  3. 注册产品—产品必须经正确注册,然后才能供应。你有责任了解哪些监管要求适用于你的产品,并确保你符合这些要求。

产品检测有哪些要求?

为证明你的产品符合能效条例要求,你可能需要持有检测报告或检测报告摘要,并可能需要在注册过程中提供检测报告。检测方法和条件列在相关澳大利亚GEMS决议中。

检测可以由自有实验室、适合的第三方检测机构或经认证的第三方检测实验室进行。你可以考虑使用经认证的第三方进行产品检测,因为它具有独立的质量保证和有效性。在澳大利亚,认证由NATA—国家检测机构协会(link is external)提供;在新西兰,认证由IANZ—新西兰国际认证机构(link is external)提供。

什么是合规计划?

在澳大利亚,GEMS监管人负责开展一些合规工作,以确保制造商和供应商遵守条例,包括监控哪些产品正在进行注册,以及查证和执法活动。

不遵守能效条例的供应商将被处罚。关于违法和处罚的全部信息见《GEMS法》。

了解合规计划的更多信息

如何注册产品?

你需要在能效评级注册网填写在线申请表,以在这两个国家申请注册。

条例监管范围

条例监管范围之外的产品类别被视为不受该条例监管。条例监管范围见澳大利亚GEMS决议或新西兰相关产品标准

Title

Legislation

Legislative framework

The legislative framework applies to both Australia and New Zealand. While both countries’ systems have similar elements, it is only the Standards that are common to both.   For both, the Act/s is the overarching instrument and Regulations sit under the A

Overview

On 1 October 2012, the Greenhouse and Energy Minimum Standards (GEMS) Act 2012 came into effect, creating a national framework for product energy efficiency in Australia. The GEMS Regulator replaced the previous state regulators, and is the sole party responsible for administering the legislation in Australia.

The legal instruments that set out the GEMS requirements are the:

The specific requirements for each product regulated under the GEMS Act—including Minimum Energy Performance Standards (MEPS) and Energy Rating Labelling (ERL) requirements—are set out in a further legislative instrument specific to that product type called a GEMS Determination.

 

Is your product regulated?

Many products are covered by energy efficiency regulations and must meet certain regulatory requirements before they can be supplied or sold in Australia or New Zealand.

Depending on the product, this may include Minimum Energy Performance Standards (MEPS), energy rating label requirements or both. There are specific requirements relevant to Australia and New Zealand.

Note: the referenced Standards are published individually or jointly by Standards Australia and Standards New Zealand and are available for purchase from SAI Global.

View all regulated products

Minimum Energy Performance Standards

What are Minimum Energy Performance Standards?

Minimum Energy Performance Standards (MEPS) specify the minimum level of energy performance that appliances, lighting and electrical equipment (products) must meet or exceed before they can be offered for sale or used for commercial purposes.

MEPS are mandatory for a range of products in Australia and New Zealand. These products must be registered through an online register and meet a number of legal requirements before they can be sold in either of these countries. To find out the MEPS requirements for a particular product check the relevant Australian GEMS determination or New Zealand regulation on the regulated products page.

Why are MEPS important?

MEPS are an effective way to increase the energy efficiency of products. By specifying a minimum energy performance level inefficient products are prevented from entering the marketplace, and manufacturers are given appropriate signals to increase product efficiency. For consumers, MEPS mean that products available in the market use less energy and have lower running costs over their lifetime.

How are MEPS worked out?

The Australian and New Zealand governments work together, and consult with industry, to determine appropriate MEPS for products.

Proposed and future MEPS

MEPS and energy rating label requirements are reviewed periodically to ensure they keep up with advances in technology. As a result, from time to time there may be new or revised MEPS or energy label requirements introduced for regulated products. Also, subject to the findings of rigorous product assessments (see above), MEPS or energy label regulations may also be introduced, from time to time, for new products.

Energy Rating Labels

What is the Energy Rating Label?

The Energy Rating Label, or ERL, provides consumers with energy performance information at point-of-sale on a range of products that are regulated under the  Greenhouse and Energy Minimum Standards (GEMS) Act 2012. An ERL will assist a consumer to compare between similar product models through comparing their star rating and estimated annual energy consumption.

The ERL is known as a comparative label, as the star rating and energy consumption estimates allow consumers to compare the energy efficiency of different models of a similar size and capacity, and (ideally) choose the most efficient one that meets their needs.

Which products must have an Energy Rating Label?

A range of products are required under the GEMS Act to display an Energy Rating Label (ERL) at their point of sale in Australia.

These are:

  • Air Conditioners (single phase)
  • Televisions
  • Clothes washers
  • Refrigerators
  • Clothes dryers
  • Freezers
  • Dishwashers
  • Computer Monitors 

Standards

What are Standards?

‘Standards’ are published documents that set out specifications and testing procedures to ensure that products are safe, reliable and consistently perform the way they are described. Standards also set out specifications to ensure products meet certain energy performance levels.

Standards play a key role in regulating the energy efficiency of energy using products; however Australia and New Zealand use Standards in a slightly different way:

  • Australia: Under the Greenhouse and Energy Minimum Standards (GEMS) Act 2012, specific product requirements are set out in legislative instruments called GEMS Determinations. Product requirements are set out either directly in the Determination, or the Determination refers to the applicable clause in the Standard. The Determination also establishes which version of the relevant Standard is applicable – usually the version that existed at the time the Determination was made.

 

Obtaining copies of the Standards

Standards Australia and Standards New Zealand publish individual and joint Standards. Standards can be purchased from SAI Global and Standards New Zealand. Standards that apply in New Zealand are also available for inspection at EECA’s head office.

The registration page contains a list of the performance and test standards that apply to products regulated under the E3 program.

Legislation Details

The specific requirements for each product regulated under the GEMS Act — including Minimum Energy Performance Standards (MEPS) and Energy Rating Labelling (ERL) requirements—are set out in a further legislative instrument specific to that product type called a GEMS Determination.

What are GEMS determinations?

A GEMS Determination sets out the requirements to be met by products (in each product class covered by the determination) in order to be legally registered, supplied, or offered for supply in Australia. These can include relevant clauses from Australian Standards.

Standards are separately published documents that set out specifications and testing procedures to ensure that products are safe, reliable, and consistently perform the way they are described. Standards can also set out specifications to ensure products meet certain energy performance levels and other energy efficiency requirements.

Standards Australia and Standards New Zealand publish individual and joint standards. Standards can be purchased from SAI Global and Standards New Zealand. Standards that apply in New Zealand are also available for inspection at EECA’s head office.

How the legislation works in New Zealand

In New Zealand the legislative instrument for product energy efficiency is the Energy Efficiency (Energy Using Products) Regulations 2002 (NZ Regulations). It is enforced by the New Zealand Regulator, the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA).

New Zealand MEPS and ERL requirements are outlined on the EECA website under current product standards. A table summarising the testing, MEPS and energy rating labelling standards is also available on the EECA website.

Products registered in Australia are also considered registered under the NZ Regulations, and the product can be supplied in New Zealand provided the energy performance characteristics of that item comply with the standards for that item’s product class. New Zealand product registrations are not recognised in Australia.

How do I find out which GEMS determination or standard applies to my product?

The Products page provides information on which products require MEPS compliance and/or energy rating labels. This page also lists Australian GEMS determinations and New Zealand product standards.

How do I meet regulatory requirements?

To legally supply any product regulated under the GEMS Act , you must complete the following steps:

  1. Test the Product—the product must be tested to prove its energy performance. A test report demonstrates whether your product meets minimum energy performance standards and determines what is declared on the product’s energy rating label (when a label is required). You may need to provide a test report with your application for registration.
  1. Ensure the Product Complies—the product must comply with the requirements set out in the Australian regulations. This may include minimum energy performance standards  and energy labelling requirements.
  1. Register the Product—a product must be properly registered before it can be offered for supply. It is your responsibility to find out what the regulatory requirements are for your products and to ensure you are meeting them.

What are the Product Testing requirements?

To show that your product complies with energy efficiency regulations you may need to hold a test report or test report summary and you may be required to provide it as part of the registration process. The test methods and conditions are outlined in the relevant Australian GEMS Determination.

Testing may be undertaken using your own test laboratory, an appropriate third party test facility, or an accredited third party testing laboratory. You may consider using an accredited third party for product testing because of the independent quality assurance and validity it provides. In Australia accreditation is provided by NATA—National Association of Testing Authorities and in New Zealand by IANZ—International Accreditation New Zealand.

What is the Compliance program?

In Australia, the GEMS Regulator undertakes a range of compliance activities to ensure that manufacturers and suppliers comply with the regulations. These include monitoring what products are being registered, and verification and enforcement activities.

There are penalties for suppliers who do not comply with the energy efficiency regulations. Full details about offences and penalties are outlined in the GEMS Act.

Read more about the Compliance program

How do I register a product?

To apply for registration in either country you will need to complete an online application form on the Energy Rating Registration Site.

Scope of the regulations

Any product classes that are outside the scope of the regulations are considered exclusions. The scope of the regulations is set out in the relevant Australian GEMS Determination or for New Zealand, the relevant product standard.

 

Search the Registration Database

icn-search.png

Use the registration database to view and compare all products that are registered under the GEMS Act.

Registration Database

Consultations

Yellow light bulb