Skip to main content


Learn how the Equipment Energy Efficiency Program is governed.

Lawyer office. Statue of Justice with scales and lawyer working on a laptop. Governance concept.


The Equipment Energy Efficiency (E3) Program is a joint initiative of the Australian Government, state and territory governments and the New Zealand Government. It is overseen by the respective Energy Ministers of each government through the Energy and Climate Change Ministerial Council and is enabled through inter-governmental agreements that formalise cooperation principles and protocols. The Energy Ministers Meeting is supported by the inter-governmental Energy and Climate Change Senior Officials Group.  

The E3 Program enables consistent energy efficiency regulations between Australia and New Zealand, in accordance with the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Agreement (TTMRA). The TTMRA allows goods that are manufactured in or imported into one country, and meet that country’s requirements, to be sold legally in the other without meeting the other country’s requirements. It facilitates trade between Australia and New Zealand and reduces compliance costs in both countries.

The E3 Program operates under an Inter-Governmental Agreement between the Australian, state and territory governments.

The Greenhouse and Energy Minimum Standards Act 2012 

The Greenhouse and Energy Minimum Standards Act 2012 (GEMS Act) is the underpinning legislation for the E3 Program in Australia. It came into effect on 1 October 2012 and created a national framework for appliance and equipment energy efficiency in Australia.

The GEMS Act establishes the GEMS Regulator who is based in the Australian Government Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water. The GEMS Regulator is responsible for administering the legislation across Australia.

In New Zealand, the Energy Efficiency (Energy Using Products) Regulations 2002 have a similar role to the Australian GEMS Act. They are administered by the New Zealand Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority.

Learn more about the GEMS Act

Read more ...


There are two main committees that ensure the E3 Program achieves its purpose and priorities, the Energy Efficiency Working Group and the E3 Review Committee.

Energy Efficiency Working Group

Energy Efficiency Working Group is made up of representatives of Australian, New Zealand, state and territory governments who are signatories to the Inter-Governmental Agreement. The Energy Efficiency Working Group recommends actions through the Energy Senior Officials Meeting and subsequently the Energy Ministers Meeting for decisions.  

State/Territory Members
 Australia Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water 
New Zealand Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority
New South Wales NSW Department of Industry 
Victoria  Energy Safe Victoria
Queensland  Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy 
Western Australia  Energy Policy WA, Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety
South Australia  Department of Energy and Mining 
Tasmania  Tasmanian Climate Change Office 
Australian Capital Territory 

Environment, Planning and Sustainable Development  Directorate - Environment

The E3 Review Committee 

The E3 Review Committee is a formal advisory group that consults with the E3 Program on issues that affect industry and consumers. Members include:

  • The Australian Industry Group
  • Airconditioning and Refrigerant Equipment Manufacturers Association of Australia (AREMA) 
  • Always Powering Ahead (APA) 
  • Australian Water Heating Forum (AWHF) 
  • Brotherhood of St Laurence 
  • Choice 
  • Consumer Electronics Suppliers Association (CESA) 
  • Energy Efficiency Council 
  • Energy Networks Australia
  • Gas Energy Australia 
  • Good Shepherd 
  • Lighting Council 
  • National Electrical and Communication Association (NECA) 
  • Rheem
  • SIT
  • Standards Australia.
Was this page useful?